HKU Awards four Honorary Degrees

at the 171st Congregation on March 18, 2005



Dr the Honourable David Li, Sir Anthony Mason, Dr the Honourable Donald Tsang Yam-kuen, former Vice-Chancellor Dr Rayson Huang and Chairman of Council, Dr Victor Fung

Sir Anthony Mason (Doctor of Laws honoris causa) is Non-permanent Judge of the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal and former Chief Justice of Australia and is one of the most well-known jurists in the common law world. Sir Anthony has been involved in many of the constitutional cases involving Hong Kong's Basic Law, and is instrumental in the process of realising the principle of "one country, two systems". He was honoured with a CBE in 1969, a KBE in 1972, and an AC in 1988.

Dr the Honourable Donald Tsang Yam-kuen 曾蔭權 (Doctor of Laws honoris causa), Chief Secretary for Administration of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government, is the leading Principal Official, supporting the Chief Executive in administering Hong Kong. In 1995, Dr Tsang was appointed Financial Secretary of the Government of Hong Kong, the first Chinese to hold the position in the territory's history. In 2001, he became Chief Secretary and in March 2005, he became the Acting Chief Executive of HKSAR.

Professor Chen Zhu 陳竺 (Doctor of Science honoris causa) is the Vice President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Director of the Chinese Human Genome Centre in Shanghai and Director of the Shanghai Institute of Hematology. His work is recognised and acclaimed around the world as being at the forefront of genomic research, particularly in the advancement of molecular target-based therapy on human cancers. In 1997, Professor Chen was the first non-French winner of the "Prix de l'Oise" by "La Lique Nationale contre le Cancer" of France.

Dr Charles Lee Yeh-kwong 李業廣 (Doctor of Social Sciences honoris causa) is the Chairperson of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority and the Hong Kong Arts Festival Society Limited. During his tenure as Chairman of the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, Dr Lee initiated a series of reforms that would modernise the stock exchange's operations, attract listings from Mainland enterprises, and also reinforce Hong Kong's position as an international finance centre.

Citations of the honorary doctors are available at: www.hku.hk/eroonweb/hongrads/introduction.html

HKU Presents Honorary University Fellowships on December 16, 2004

Professor Daniel Chan Kwong-on 陳鑛安 (BScGen 1962), retired Chair Professor of Zoology of HKU and the former Director of the Kadoorie Agricultural Research Centre, has made significant contributions to a wide range of agricultural research.

Mr Warren Chan Chee-hoi SC 陳志海 (LLB 1977), a distinguished counsel in Hong Kong, has made many contributions to his alma mater. He is a benefactor of the Faculty of Law, and has been heavily engaged in some of the important alumni projects in the faculty.

Mrs Christina Lee Look Ngan-kwan 利陸雁群, is a longtime supporter of HKU's Faculty of Medicine and Founding Chairman of the HKU Foundation-Bone Health Fund. She has been instrumental to a number of donations made to the Faculty and to the University through the Lee Hysan Foundation.

(From left, front row) Mrs Christina Lee Look Ngan-kwan, Ms Shelley Lee Lai-kuen, Professor Lo Hong-lit, Pro-Chancellor Dr the Honourable David Li, Vice-Chancellor Lap-Chee Tsui,

Ms Shelley Lee Lai-kuen 李麗娟 (BA 1971), together with her Class of 1971, organised the Silver Jubilee Reunion and pioneered this alumni-giving tradition. She helped connect the university to the community by promoting the Young Leaders of Tomorrow scholarship scheme.

Professor Lo Hong-lit 羅慷烈, retired professor of HKU's Department of Chinese, is held in high esteem in Chinese academia first of all for his achievements in classical Chinese poetry, Confucian classics, Chinese history and historiography, ancient philosophy, the great anthologies, as well as classical philology and phonology.

